Reviews / Testimonials

Stayed at River Cottage from 3 Aug - 10 Aug, 2019

A beautiful cottage in a very peaceful location. Super easy to drive to both coasts. Really loved the decor and artwork in the cottage and Adrian and Lucy were great hosts. Would love to stay again.
Susan Connie - Airbnb review

Stayed at Corn Loft from 2 Aug - 5 Aug 2019

We loved our stay at corn mill. The location is absolutely perfect & peaceful. Adrian & Lucy were lovely hosts, welcoming & kind. Highly recommended
Eric - Airbnb review

Stayed at Corn Loft from 23 - 27 July 2019

A perfect adults retreat, private and secluded set within beautiful surroundings but perfectly placed to visit all local areas and attractions. We would highly recommend booking and could not have asked for kinder hosts. Spotlessly clean and nothing was to much trouble, we thoroughly enjoyed are stay and will be returning!
Rebecca - Airbnb review

Stayed at River Cottage from 20 - 27 July

River Cottage is a beautiful and idyllic place to spend your holiday. The cottage has everything you need and the hosts are welcoming and kind. It is close to a range of great places to visit. Brilliant for dogs too. Our dog loved it as much as us!
Sally - Airbnb review

Fabulous Stay!

What a wonderful 3 days we have just had in River Cottage!  This beautiful cottage, with it’s very well appointed, rustic charm, exceeds all expectations and had everything we needed for a very comfortable and relaxed stay.  Our dog even had her own doggie welcome pack!  Carbis Mill holds an idilic position, tucked away down a driveway next to the river and even has its own leat running right through the middle of the garden, you feel like you are a million miles from anywhere, so its a perfect escape and antidote to normal busy life but you are still close enough to walk to St Erth along the river or pop in the car to local beaches and sites.  Adrian and Lucy are perfect hosts!  Their attention to all the little details that make a difference to your stay are very evident but they are very relaxed and always happy to share all their local knowledge of the area to enhance your stay in any way that they can.  We also loved the private little garden space at the back of the cottage that is fully fenced, it was a great comfort to know we could let the dog out knowing she couldn’t wander off exploring!  We had one day that was a little overcast and damp so after breakfast in Marazion overlooking St Michaels Mount and a long beach walk we were really happy to relax in the cosy cottage with the woodburner and a film.  So River Cottage is perfect for getting out and about from and for just getting cosy and relaxed in too, we can’t recommend it more highly and will definitely be going back soon! Thanks Adrian and Lucy!  With our very best wishes, Nick, Ness and Smartie! 🐾. 22-24th April 2022

Five star stay!!

The Cornish sunshine was missing, well it was the end of January, but we had a wonderful stay in Corn Loft. Our hosts left a very welcome cream tea and they also recommended a few local hostelries (Porthminster Kitchen was excellent). Carbis Mill is set in a tranquil oasis, hearing the river run by is quite a treat.The property itself is beautifully furnished and spotless. We couldn’t recommend a stay at Corn Loft enough, five star all round!

5 star stay!!

The Cornish sunshine was missing, well it was the end of January, but we had a wonderful stay in Corn Loft. Our hosts left a very welcome cream tea and they also recommended a few local hostelries (Porthminster Kitchen was excellent). Carbis Mill is set in a tranquil oasis, hearing the river run by is quite a treat.The property itself is beautifully furnished and spotless. We couldn’t recommend a stay at Corn Loft enough, five star all round!

Perfect winter break

We enjoyed a perfect 4 night stay in January. Despite the wind and rain we ventured out everyday to enjoy the dramatic Cornish coastline. The real highlight was knowing we had the warmth and luxury of Corn Loft to return to. We could relax in the romantic roll top bath in the bedroom or revive in the steaming hot shower of the en suite. Then sink into the large sumptuous sofa with a hot drink and a good book. The well equipped kitchen was perfect to cook a simple supper. Then we would finish the day with a good nights sleep in the comfortable king-size bed. Lucy and Adrian are perfect hosts, there to help without intruding. A superb winter break to forget those winter blues. Gabby and Kevin. January 2022    

Lovely, comfortable, clean and quiet! – September 2021

Lovely, comfortable, clean and quiet! All the things we need on holiday! The place is stunning, both inside and out. Adrian and Lucy are fabulous, friendly, lovely hosts. We have stayed in both River Cottage and the Corn Loft now, and both are fab. River Cottage has a bit more room but the Corn Loft is so cozy, spacious and beautiful they are just as good as each other. We highly recommend staying there for a great, restful stay. Thank you Adrian and Lucy!

Heather and Neil

Complete Haven

We had the most wonderful stay in Corn Loft. The photos do make it look beautiful but cannot do justice to this place – it is a complete haven.
The approach is magical and on arrival you are then led through a private walkway with beautiful planting that envelops a sweet secluded garden and bridge to entrance. The loft is beautifully proportioned with ample space for reclining and relaxing – much needed!
It is all there, the important information on the history of the place, local delights, not to mention the generous welcome gift of bubbles, scones and delectable clotted cream.
You are treated with everything you could require in the kitchen, ample sofa and stashes of DVD’s to help make you feel miles from anything.
A bath in the bedroom is hard to walk away from, the shower was a dream and it was flooded with beautiful Cornish light through the many windows.
The location is ideal, being such a short distance to the different bays in this area. Admittedly whilst that is all there, we were more than content in retreating back and ambling along the river at the edge of the garden. Lucy and Adrian were so quick to respond and forthcoming with helpful tips for the area – all of which lived up to expectations.
We felt surprised and truly lucky to have landed in such a sweet spot.

Pictures don’t do it justice

Jennifer

A wonderful place – the pictures don’t do it justice really so trust all the five star reviews! Adrian and Lucy couldn’t have been more helpful and communicative before and during our stay. The house is gorgeous, with access to the river path where we had a lovely run one sunny evening. The house itself is really well equipment with a big comfy bed, rain shower and lovely living space and private garden. A very peaceful spot, we are already planning to come back and recommend to everyone!

Corn Loft

June 2021

6 out 5

This is a gem of a place, Corn Loft is beautiful, the hosts Lucy and Adrian have got this spot on, they gave us ideas for walks, one of which we went along the river to the local pub, we also walked to the train station which took us to st Ives, Penzance and Hayle. With very thoughtful touches, a beautiful gift (it was our honeymoon) so equipped with everything you could ask for even the bbq was ready to light. I especially loved the twinkly lights that came on in the evening. ( thanks Adrian for listening to Lucy and me) We walkedaround 12-15 miles miles a day, so the big free standing bath was absolutely perfect to have a glorious soak in, so romantic a perfect retreat 6 out of 5.

Kim 

June 2021

Oozes of character, peacefulness and tranquility!

Carbis Mill is set in a stunning location tucked away in a beautiful untouched landscape that takes you back in time and make you slow down and relax in a way that many other places can’t compete with. We could have not asked for a more perfect week staying at River Cottage. Lucy & Adrian have been the most amazing hosts, from adding all the little extras such as lovely cream tea and bubbly on arrival and being super helpful and kind when our dog needed veterinary care.

Lots of love and thanks again!

○ Emelie & Jack ○

May 2021

Perfect Staycation in the stunning Cornish Countryside – April 2021

Our recent stay at Carbis Mill was the perfect getaway that was very much needed! The Corn Loft is a great space laid out to cater for couples  – really clean, light and airy. Having our own kitchen saved on the cost of eating out and allowed us to get cosy for the night! A lot of thought has gone into the little touches that makes this a luxury break.

The location is peaceful but accessible to most Seaside towns within a short drive (St Ives in particular is really nearby and great for a day trip). Being able to walk 10-15 minutes to the local pub was also a huge bonus!

A big thank you to Adrian and Lucy who were on hand to suggest places to visit and tell us where they got the mattress for the bed from (it was heavenly!)

Already looking forward to coming down again in the future!

Tom and Alex

We will be back!

Tessa

Corn Loft at Carbis Mill

April 2021

We had a fantastic stay at Corn Loft.

It is beautifully decorated, with everything you need and a very comfy sofa and bed. The bath was incredible!

We had a BBQ in the garden which was lovely. Everything felt super clean and COVID secure.

The hosts were so friendly and helpful – definitely take them up on their recommendations! We walked to the Star pub which was great, saw the seals and had breakfast at Godrevy and went to the lizard.

Corn loft is a great location and just a perfect get away. Thank you again, we will be back!!

Wonderful stay in River Cottage April 2021

We eventually arrived at Carbis Mill after a long lockdown needing a real rest – it was absolutely worth the wait. We were looking for a cosy hideaway and we were delighted with what we got. The cottage is beautiful and peaceful, tucked away by the river with everything you need for a relaxing break. Comfy bed, amazing bath and so nice to enjoy the evenings by the fire. Really enjoyed the short walk to St Erth from where you can get the train into St Ives. Lucy and Adrian are very generous and welcoming hosts with lots of great suggestions for places to go and things to do. We can’t wait to return!

Thank you 🙂 Lucy and Nick

Cornish Paradise

“Lucy and Adrian have created a stunning piece of Cornish paradise in River Cottage. Accessed down a long treelined lane and nestled on the bank of a small river that flows past the property, this chocolate box cottage is something you could easily find as a setting for a romantic film, and infact reminded us of the house from The Holiday! And what a holiday it was – a true break from the drama of London, our stress and fatigue quickly washed away as we explored the riverbank walks and ventured further by car to local villages such as Marazion and Porthleven with their historic waterfront, inviting pubs and then on to the breathtaking Gwithian beach which was perfect for rambles with the dog. River Cottage is well suited for your pooch with an enclosed garden to the rear. Lucy and Adrian are such welcoming hosts and went out of their way to add little touches that reflected their love for creating a home from home for their guests including a Christmas tree! After a day exploring outdoors, the place welcomes you back with its warm tasteful decor, roll top bath and large shower, log fire and comfy bed. Total heaven, one of our best ever stays – we can’t wait to return!”

Jack

December 2020

Amazing Stay!

We have stayed here twice now and we definitely wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Cornwall, We always feel so welcome and love staying here! The accommodation is always so clean and lovely.

Perfect Stay

“What can we say… Just perfect! Nestled down a rural leafy lane sat peacefully in beautiful gardens sits River cottage. Beautifully decorated and equipped throughout, with lots of personal touches Lucy and Adrian have really thought of everything. There was a warm welcome to us and our little dog, lots of information and advice, nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. River cottage is in the perfect location for seeing some of the most stunning scenery, coves and beaches Cornwall has to offer. The train that runs from St Erth to St Ives every half hour is a real treat, with wonderful coastal views. We also saw lots of wildlife including an Owl flying above our car down the lane. Really didn’t wan’t to leave and can’t wait to go back If you are thinking of booking , this is a real gem of a place.”

Joy

September 2020

A little gem

“If your reading this , you have found a little gem. Comfy, cosy, with everything you could possibly need! With exceptionally pleasant friendly hosts. Short drive to some stunning beaches. Lovely river walk in beautiful surroundings to the local village pub. It was our first stay here, but definitely won’t be our last! Highly recommended.”

Brendan

August 2020

Our Favourite Place in Cornwall!

Just returned home from our second visit to Corn Loft this year and I’m already planning another trip for next year!

The most beautiful, relaxing and secluded accommodation in the most perfect little location. And also so close to, in my opinion, some of the best coastline in the country.
We feel so lucky to have booked some nights away just after lockdown in our favourite place, and any worries that we had about visiting another location were instantly lifted by Lucy and Adrian – who have gone above and beyond to ensure Corn Loft is clean and safe but also that our stay was as friendly as last time. 
Can’t rate them, or Corn Loft highly enough – it is beautiful and we have enjoyed every second spent there!

Katie B  

12th July – 17th July 2020

Wonderful week away – 4th – 11th July 2020

We headed down to Cornwall on the first day out of holiday “lockdown” – possibly with a little uncertainty about what the new world might look like, but there was no need to be concerned what so ever. Lucy and Adrian were fantastic hosts and the county nothing but welcoming. River Cottage was the perfect retreat set in a beautiful location with wonderful river side walks. Doggie friendly and welcoming and right on the door step of all the places south Cornwall has to offer. Would recommend to anyone in a flash.

Thank you for making our first trip in over 3 months one to remember.

PREMIER ACCOMMODATION – Wonderful River Cottage

River Cottage is wonderful. It is well equipped, with everything that you could possibly need. But it is the location that is exceptional. It is so quiet. Our best memory will be standing in the back garden and looking at the night sky with no light pollution and only the sound of the nearby river. It is the perfect getaway. Lucy and Adrian are excellent hosts. They gave us helpful suggestions for places to visit. Little personal touches enhanced the experience . River Cottage is within easy reach of St Ives and Penzance and many other places of interest.

We hope to return soon as this location is so very special.

Neil

February 2020

Exceptionally cosy and beautiful setting

The River Cottage is exceptionally cosy, nestled in a beautiful setting and situated perfectly to explore southern Cornwall from! The place was very clean. The kitchen is well stocked with cooking equipment, the dvd box full of a great movie selection and the fire place easy to get going. We will definitely stay again when we come back to see more of Cornwall.

Arthur

December 2019

Perfect Stay! – Corn Loft, Valentines Weekend

We were fortunate enough to win a 3 night stay at Corn Loft and what a perfect weekend it what. Absolutely beautiful place and cottage, with everything you could want. The loft was very spacious and the roll top bath in the bedroom was a lovely touch. We arrived to Prosecco and chocolates and a very warm welcome from Adrian and Lucy. Carbis Mill is just far enough out the way for peace and quiet but only a short drive to some beautiful towns and beaches. We can’t wait to return for another visit and will be recommending our friends and family to come and stay too. Thankyou for a special weekend away.
~ Hannah & Paul ~

River CottagePerfect Location, beautiful cottage cosy and warm

“Adrian was a great host, making sure that everything was perfect ready for our stay and always being available if we had any questions. The house was beautiful, cosy and warm and the surrounding garden and public footpaths were great for the dog. The house was in the the perfect location, far enough away to feel truly relaxing but a short car ride to all the main towns and beaches and a short walk to the local village! I would definitely recommended as a place to stay if you want to get away from it all but also as a great base for exploring Cornwall. Would definitely stay again!”

Hannah and Gareth

The best Airbnb we ever stayed in

The pictures are incredible but it is even better in real life. Can not recommend this place and Adrian and Lucy enough. Attention to detail is second to none, beautiful setting, beautiful cottage, beautiful interior! Everything was superb! We didn’t want to leave! This is a MUST stay!”

River Cottage is the best Airbnb we’ve ever stated in and we can’t wait to go back.

Alec

January 2020

 

Beautiful cottage, perfect location

Corn Loft is such a beautiful cottage set in the perfection location. Lovely decor that makes it feel a home away from home. Close enough to all the main Cornwall attractions but set away from all the noise so you can fully relax. Adrian and Lucy were the perfect hosts giving us local recommendations. We look forward to returning to Carbis Mill.

Amie

November 2019

Corn loft 11th to 15th September

We have just spent 4 wonderful days in Corn loft.It was perfect from start to finish,from the very spacious loft, comfy bed,large shower room en suite, to the very well equipped kitchen, cosy rustic sitting room with the most comfortable corner sofa to sink into after a stroll along the river from the village of St,Erth.It is countryside luxury. We would highly recommend a few days to this tranquil gem. Adrian and Lucy are amazing hosts, very friendly and always on hand to help if necessary.

Perfect getaway for couples, Corn Loft, September 2019

Corn Loft is the perfect getaway for couples! The home is clean, peaceful and the perfect place to come back to after a day of exploring Cornwall. It’s ideally situated to explore St Ives, Penzance, Lands End and so much more! It’s easy walking distance of the local village where you can pick up some essentials and there’s a good pub. Adrian and Lucy are also amazing hosts who are very willing to give reccomendations and help with any questions! Throughly reccomend staying here!

Ellen, 22nd September 2019

Corn Loft at Carbis Mill – Fantastic House

“Fantastic House, finish is perfect and the location is incredible. 15 minuite walk to the local pub down the stream where they do some great food. Will definitely be going back next year. Adrian and Lucy are so helpful with everything and make fantastic Hosts.”

Martin

November 2019

It is where you want to stay!

“River Cottage is an amazing home away from home in beautiful surroundings. It’s cozy, very comfortable and only short drive to Penzance and St.Ives. Perfect location if you want to explore Cornwall. Lucy and Adrian are great hosts, very friendly and welcoming. The communication was very easy and they were very patient and accommodating even though we arrived much later than predicted. We really couldn’t have found a better place and will definitely be back again. Don’t think twice about booking this place, it is where you want to stay.”

Zuzana

December 2019

Dream like location, River Cottage, Sept 2019

“Lucy and Adrian are not only really lovely people, they also provide an incredible, spacious place to stay with all that one could want inside , a beautiful garden outside, all situated in a dream like location far off the publice road down in the Hayle river valley offering total tranquility and an abundance of nature and stars. Expect a warm welcome and a desire to never want to leave!”

Antonia

River Cottage a hidden gem

A hidden gem! Right by the river path making a gorgeous walk to St Erth where there is a pub and a shop which is so much more than a local store. The cottage is spotlessly clean, plenty of space and very comfortable. It is equipped with everything you need and the extras Adrian & Lucy put in are above and beyond the norm. The little gifts on arrival (not saying what as don’t want to spoil it) are a lovely touch making you feel very welcome. Lucy & Adrian are terrific hosts, giving you space but they are there if you need them or want some info on the local area. We took a very large dog with us and was not made to feel that he was a nuisance in anyway, in fact, he even received a box of goodies of his own on arrival. The cottage is a great base to see the local area with Hayle a short drive or a 20 minute or so river walk. Staying at River Cottage was much more than we expected.

Vera

24th Sep – 27th Sep 2019

 

Corn Loft, September 2019

“A great space to stretch out in the evening after a busy day adventuring in Cornwall. It’s in a perfect position to jump between coasts to pick your weather, and off the main road so can by pass the main queues into Marazion or Hayle. Lovely decor in keeping with the loft construction. We found the river side path a really useful shortcut into St Erth and then onwards to Hayle. We were there 2 days before we used the van, as we could cycle direct from the house. Pretty faultless really.”

Rod

River Cottage has it all!

River Cottage has it all! We arrived to the warmest of welcomes from Adrian and Lucy, and immediately were made to feel right at home. We were shown to the cottage, taking in the fantastic gardens and further surroundings on the way. Upon entering it was immediately clear that the photos just don’t do this place justice, furthermore Adrian and Lucy have made the space incredibly cosy and with little homely touches. A well throughout guidebook is provided with plenty of local tips and tricks, as well a comprehensive history on how the river cottage came to be, which is fascinating. One of the few dog friendly accommodations in the area we were pleased to see that our Dog was as warmly welcomed as us. After a long days walking and exploring the local area there is no better place to unwind than in front of the log burner with a glass of wine. We can’t recommend this place enough, you MUST stay here.

Daniel

30th September 2019

River Cottage at Carbis Mill, August 2019

“Once you find River Cottage on your Air BnB search don’t look any further it is simply wonderful . The cottage itself is spacious and very clean and has a beautifully decorated kitchen that is also well equipped. The space upstairs is lovely especially the view in the morning out towards the river through the open doors. The roll top bath in the bedroom was a great design feature and we loved it. The best part for us was the location and there is a station at St Erth ( 5 minutes away by car ) where you can leave you can park all day and hop on the train to St Ives and Carbis Bay . One of the reasons for choosing this beautiful cottage was for our Labrador. He loved the garden which is fully secure and he also loved the surrounding walks along the river. We found 2 amazing dog friendly beaches which were superb and unspoilt all accessible within 15 mins. We can’t wait to return and you can’t ask for better hosts who greeted us with wine and biscuits and flowers from the garden.”

Karen

Tranquil heavenly retreat

Stayed in CornLoft for three nights. Beautiful tranquil rural setting and luxury accommodation in old mill. Lovely welcoming hosts who made you you very welcome and were a fountain of local knowledge.

Beautiful place – Corn Loft, August 2019

What a find! So so pleased we were able to book this amazing place. Lucy and Adrian are so welcoming and really make you feel comfortable with some lovely personal touches. The building itself is a beautiful picture painting, tranquil, quiet and a pretty old stone exterior and wonderfully decorated inside with everything you need to make you relaxed and ready to explore the picturesque surroundings in Cornwall as it is ideally located to explore some lovely locations. Adrian and Lucy were fantastic hosts and we would really recommend this place to anyone. It really is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed in.

Corn Loft – June 2019

WOW! From the moment we arrived we knew we had found a little piece of heaven! We had booked for a week to relax and unwind and were not disappointed. Corn Loft offered luxury accommodation in the most tranquil setting. We enjoyed many walks along the river, and loved having the local pub not more than a 15 minute stroll away for a cheeky G&T. We both love cooking, so visited local farm shops and little independents in St Ives to get locally grown supplies, and were thrilled to have a BBQ, oven and hob to utilise! The king bed with the most comfy mattress gave us the best nights sleep and the the roll top bath in the bedroom was just what was needed after a day of exploring locally. Lucy and Adrian were the most fantastic hosts, offering a wealth of knowledge on where to go and what to see. We enjoyed our stay so much we’ve booked for next year and cannot wait! Thank you!

Beautiful hidden Gem – August 7-10th 2108

We had a wonderful, relaxing  stay in the picture perfect Corn Loft.

The accommodation is spacious, tastefully furnished and well appointed.

Location wise it’s nestled in beautiful, peaceful surroundings but handily located for Porthleven, St Ives and St Michaels Mount.

Lucy and Adrian are excellent and friendly hosts, keen to ensure their guests have a relaxing break.

We will definitely be back!

AE

Please leave your review by completing the form below: